GLEE review: “Home” storyline hits homerun

After GLEE Madonniffied last week, it is expected that the writers tone down on the songs this week. And I’m glad they did. “Home” was able to push forward several key characters in the cast that were simply drowned out by the Madonna hype in the past episode.

For this episode we see another solo by Kurt (Chris Colfer), who gave a riveting (but at times a bit awkward) “A House Is Not a Home” performance. I’m a huge Kurt fan, so this for me was an absolute treat. His father, played by Mike O’Malley, also appears in this episode and I just want to see more of him.

Kurt’s storyline was written very well, I must say. I really do hope the writers don’t write out the usual cliche’s about gay characters –how they often never have happily-ever-afters. But I might be talking too soon. After all, Kurt will have a boyfriend this season.

April Rhodes, the sprightly Kirsten Chenoweth, is back in McKinley High to help Mr. Schue with the New Directions. April was a bit detached from the cast this episode, which is no big deal, since she was the main story in last season’s “The Rhodes not taken” episode. Still, Chenoweth, who bagged an acting award for her GLEE appearance, was, as usual, a great addition to the cast. But I am not such a huge fan of her 12 year-old belter voice, though. Just Sayin’ AND the writers should already quit the whole shtick with William Schuster and April…it’s a bit forced and quite corny.

But I was quite disappointed that Idina Menzel who plays the coach of Vocal Adrenaline didn’t have a reunion with Chenoweth on the GLEE screen. It would’ve been TV gold! GLEE already did “Defying Gravity” why not push it a bit further?

I’m taking the episode description from fellow GLEE blogger BYTER since I am quite lazy today: ” Kurt fixes up his dad with Finn’s mom in hopes of having a regular family. And Coach Sue Sylvester demands that the Cheerios diet in preparation for a magazine interview.”

So now, Mercedes: I liked her “Beautiful” rendition at the end of the episode. I thought it was really heartfelt. AND her moment with Quinn Fabray was also good. I hope they start developing Quinn’s character too, I mean she is preggo…isn’t that always a good storyline for drama?

Overall, I loved this episode. It’s no surprise too that this episode’s director, Paris Barclay, is the same director who made last season’s “Wheels” such a gem.  You could see he really cares for Kurt and Sue Sylvester’s characters so much. Sue’s A-HA moment after the Cheerios performance was also great. Goes to show how even villains have their good side too.

Song list:

“Fire”    (April Rhodes and Mr. Schuester)

“A House Is Not A Home” (Kurt and Finn)

” “One Less Bell to Answer” / “A House Is Not a Home” (Mr Schuester and April)

” Beautiful” (Mercedes)

“Home” (April and the GLEE cast)

Quotable quotes:

Kurt: You shouldn’t be embrassed with your figure

Mercedes: No, Im not embarassed. Im just worried that showing too much skin would cause a sex riot.

Sue: How do you two not have a show on Bravo?

Brittany: I’m pretty sure my cat’s been reading my diary

Sue: Well, Becky, you are assimilating beautifully. Instead of being different and an outcast, you’re just like every other teenage girl in America, sadly obsessed with vanity. Hey, before you know it, you’ll be leaving little baggies of upchuck in your parents’ linen closet.

Will: April, I really thought you were serious about getting sober.

April: Don’t look so disappointed, Will. I mean, who are we kidding, really? I’m nothing but a washed-up dreamer. It’s all I’ll ever be. Besides, I’ve finally realized my life-long ambition of being a mistress to an incredibly wealthy strip-mall tycoon and the owner-operator of a cabaret roller rink!

Leave a comment

Filed under Rants and Raves

Leave a Reply

