This is Eat!

Lull time in my new job  and I’m back to blogging.

Unless you’ve been living under a rock Virginia, you know that I have slightly shifted my career.

I took my first bite at being a food journalist last Friday for a magazine you’ve probably not heard before but would love to work for.

Andrew Scrivani's food photography for the New York Times

Right now I’ve done what I needed to do: Re-write the recipe of a three course Italian meal I had last Saturday. After that tasty task, I am now pretending to be doing something.

I like my current job.  So far, so gyud.  That’s because it involves two things I can’t live without: Eating good food and eating it for free.

My Monday fell on a Friday. My editor-in-chief took me to ISCAHM in Katipunan for my first look at a cooking demonstration.  The chef’s task was to re-do a homemaker’s treasured Kapampangan caldereta.

I was surprised to find out that their version of beef caldereta involved slowly marinating the meat in an adobo sauce but with less vinegar. Nevertheless, the improved caldereta was a treat. Did I mention that it was free?

Next, we went to Mia Concio’s house in La Vista. Mia is the daughter of director Lupita Kashiwahara, NInoy Aquino’s sister. She was very gracious to invite us over her house to share her aunt’s prized Kapampangan delicacies: Kalderetang Kambing, pritong hito with buro ng dalag and Palakang bukid. Yum.

Not only did we taste the food but my editor in chief styled it before taking pictures. That tiring day finished deliciously at 11 p.m.

So there goes my first day at work.

Now that I’m pushing my third day on the job, I can’t help but reminisce (eew. My Creative writing professors will kill me for using such word), those three years with GMANews.TV.

My experiences here are definitely new but there are times when I long for the predictable. I also miss the people. WELL, not all, but most.

For now, I resolve to abstain from office politics, unless it involves voting, which restaurant to dine for the night. For free.

5 Comments

Filed under Rants and Raves

5 responses to “This is Eat!

  1. Hi, Mark! 🙂 Nice blog you’ve got here. Can’t wait to see your work in the food mag (yihee, welcome to the magazine world)! Anyway, I’ll link you 🙂

  2. Jhozef! Congrats on your new job 🙂

    Natawa ako sa “I also miss the people. WELL, not all, but most.” 😉

  3. Ailen

    marky, congrats sa bagong trabaho. 🙂 isama mo kami minsan, haha. sana tuloy-tuloy na ‘yan!

    …pero kung di man, baka gusto mong i-consider na ang pag-aartista. tutal nag-best actor ka na naman. 😀

Leave a Reply

